Apple Aperture is Dead !

This morning I was saddened to read that Apple had made a statement to The Loop that they would no longer develop Aperture or iPhoto once OS Yosemite ships next year. Much like everyone else who uses Aperture, I have spent hours upon hours working processing thousands and thousands of images, developing a file system that worked, importing presets and eagerly waiting for the next update or big thing involving Aperture.  Apple hasn’t done any real updates to Aperture since Nov 2013 and I have had that sinking feeling that something was wrong. No updates/news means no good news ….right.

Apple have stated that they will introduce a new app called Photos when OS Yosemite is released and that will manage the photo needs of all, professionals, hobbyist, amateurs, basically everyone. It will be cloud based and you will have access to all of your photos all the time across all devices. Sounds great but my wallet is already hurting with the associated cost that will come with it.

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 1.55.48 pm

So right from the beginning I’m going to call Bullshit ! Bullshit that Apple will make a product that will handle all the requirements for Professional Photographers through to people just getting into photography, I’m simply not buying in to it.  To me, and I’m sure a few other people see, that Apples new Photos app sounds like nothing more than a souped up version of iPhoto and that’s about it. I couldn’t care less if its cloud based due to the cost associated with it. 5 Gig for free isn’t enough for anyone nowadays, 20 gig for free maybe. Most people I know have 5 gig of music and/or photos on their phones, let alone 5 gig of photos stored in a fucking cloud. Not to mention that Apple has given me the impression that they are basing all of the photography apps, wait their only photography app on the iPhone user market. Just add a few sweet filters right ?? Photography is a lot more than that and I am more than surprised that Apple has put all of its (Photography app) eggs in one basket. Apple have also stated that they will continue with development of Final Cut Pro X and Logic Pro, which, I believe, will also go the same way as Aperture sooner or later.

So now it looks as though I will be either learning to use Lightroom, which after my last efforts left me frustrated and extremely angry, or looking for another “app’ to process and manage my photos and right now Adobe are making a pretty good offer of $9.99 per month for Lightroom and Photoshop in Adobe Creative Cloud.

Apple Aperture is Dead, Long Live Apple Aperture.

