An Audience, Do I have one ?

This blogging course is killing me already. I’ve spent so many hours today sitting on my backside reading blogs and doing stuff behind the scenes all the while my Wife unloads the car from our holiday/road trip. My Wife does keep saying that its FINE, you just sit there while I struggle with this bag and don’t get up!

I’m not sure what she means by that but its sounds like approval to me, anyway onto the next assignment as I’m pretty sure my dear Wife can handle washing the car. I just hope she remembers to vacuum it as well.  So the assignment today (or rather Thursday’s as I’m still playing catch up) is to write a post to identify my audience. Not easy and as usual I asked myself a couple of questions that need to be answered.

  1. Do I really have one? an Audience that is.
  2. And who is that Audience?

QANTAS Credit Union Arena

I might start by answering the second question first. The audience is people (You) who have an interest in photography either professionally, just starting out or some where in between. Some people might be asking themselves How did he get that shot?, I could take a better photo than that or where is that?

Now to the first question. I suppose this blog does have an audience. There are 160 plus people who have subscribed so that must mean something, right. I suppose it means that I have an audience. Now that was easy.

So you might be wondering where this photo is and how I got it. Well it was taken at the QANTAS Credit Union Arena (us locals called it The Entertainment Centre) which unfortunately has now closed down to make way for an Apartment complex (I’m still gobsmacked by that decision). Fortunately for me I knew the former head of security for the arena and I asked if I could have one last walk around to get some shots. He did more than that, he gave me a guided tour of the place and I saw areas that I would have never have seen and this is the spot where the celebrities/ sports people stand in front of the waiting media. It was surreal to be standing there.

But that wasn’t the assignment at all, I failed the assignment by not achieving the task. (Failure is a very good way to learn especially if it is painful, don’t be afraid of failing) The task, so you are aware was to publish a post you’d like your ideal audience member to read, and include a new-to-you element in it.

Part of the assignment has been achieved by including the new to you element in it because I provided some context to the photo but I didn’t write a post for my ideal audience member, and that is because at I don’t have a post for my ideal audience member because I’m not 100% sure on how to write that post but there is one thing I’m 100% of, and that is that I will learn as I work my way through this course.

Anyway here’s a hot tip, Always ask if you can go that little further because the worst thing is you could be told is ‘No‘.

Now I need to go and check on the wife, just to make sure she has vacuumed the car out.

5 thoughts on “An Audience, Do I have one ?

  1. That gave me a laugh thank you. As far as the assignment for the ”audience” I am as stuck as you are. Hope she vacuumed the car out!
    -Chirping with Life-

  2. Guess we’re all stuck! It’s nice to meet you. Thanks for visiting my blog. I love your photos :grin:

  3. I like the use of the image of the old Quantas Arena to illustrate the audience theme. I chose the press area of Camp Nou | FC Barcelona (which appears in the background of my profile pic when I like a post) for similar reasons. D.

Comments are closed.