A Beach With No Sunrise

Fulfilling the resolutions goals I had set for myself at the start of 2017 were never going to be easy especially when you have to get out of a nice comfy bed at 3.30. The drive itself is an hour and daylight saving had to be taken into consideration. Sun simply comes up early, real early during summer. I hate daylight savings!

dsc00955

However the sun didn’t arrive as usual but this time sort of slinked into the office behind the clouds. Didn’t even stop by to say hello, just slinked in trying hard not to be noticed. But we, the assembled photographers noticed alright and they, me included had to work hard to get good images that we were going to be happy with. Simply put the Sun let us down.

After some much needed coffee I decided to head over to Bondi to see if I could capture any decent street style shots but by the time I arrived the rain had really set in and it looked as though there would be no let up for the rest of the day.  I’d come this far and I wasn’t staying in the car so I got out with the camera in one hand and an umbrella in the other and walked the length of Bondi seeing if there was anything worthwhile.

dsc00985

There weren’t to many people about except for a few that had decided to look on in hope from under their umbrellas that the rain would stop and the sun would shine bright.

dsc00980

A few of the locals did venture out for their morning walks, run, swim or surf. On the way back I found this fella tied up to the railing as he kept watch on his owner out in the surf. The rain didn’t bother him and he wasn’t real interested in me photographing him either. He just watched on and waited patiently for his owner to return.

dsc00986

Apart from getting out of bed incredibly early and Mother Nature not being kind, shooting the landscapes at Cronulla was really enjoyable and a good learning experience. I’m not ticking this one off as ‘completed a goal for 2017’ but I think that I’m going to do more landscape photography before I can say, Tick !

Feel free to share and leave a comment.

