Photography Assignments – Art of Photography

The Art of Photography is a You Tube channel that I have been watching for some time for tips, inspiration, lessons about the history of photography and all the other interesting bits such as the Artist series.  The You Tube Channel is hosted by Ted Forbes and around October last year he started a project called Photo Assignments with the first being a pre-assignment – Create a journal or scrap book. For reasons unknown I missed the video discussing what was going to be done however I did see Photo Assignment #2 which is low angle shooting.

With this in mind and being between projects right now I thought ‘Why not, I’ll give that a go’.  So I went in search of subjects that I could shoot at a low angle and I started with the dogs. The Ginger Ninja is the easiest to photograph as there is no requirement to sneak up on her to take a photo, she will just lay there and let you snap away. This turned out to be a really good opportunity to refresh my skills with DoF and looking at the corners of my frame before hitting the shutter button.

The Ginger Ninja

None of the techniques that you want to practice can be applied to the next dog.  As you can see, this is the point that I got caught sneaking up on Old Blue Dog…… on my belly slithering as quietly as I could across the carpet with camera in hand. Old Blue Dog does not like having his photo taken and he has this look about him that says that you have just crossed the line buddy!

One Blue Eye

I really felt as though I needed to do something that was worthy of this assignment as photographing the two dogs wasn’t enough. So deciding that I needed to get out and about I headed to the local park figuring that I could shoot the playground equipment when there was no kids using it. The playground certainly has plenty of opportunities to shoot from a low angles but the kids use it a lot.

The Springy Thing

The local beach was a good opportunity as well and I couldn’t help but photograph the coke can with the waves crashing in the background. The end result is not meant to be a commercial photo by any stretch of the imagination but I did like the finished results.

coke-on-the-beach

Overall the assignment made me think about what I was going to shoot, how I was going to approach the shoot and it certainly made me think before I hit the shutter button. I’m looking forward to the next assignment that Ted Forbes challenges us with.

2 thoughts on “Photography Assignments – Art of Photography

Comments are closed.