Fast Jets, Fast Lenses

What photographer doesn’t love an airshow. So many opportunities to photograph aircraft of all shapes and sizes. The only downside is the sheer number of photographers that are attempting to do the same thing you are doing.

“MASH” 47D Helicopter. I felt pretty nostalgic about this one as I grew up watching MASH on the old colour Tv. All that was needed was a Radar O’Reilly saying “Choppers” to make this best helicopter at show.

FA15 (I think) This was one of the hardest aircraft to photograph as they are incredibly fast and sop many photographers were trying to photograph them.

“Red Barron” A beautifully restored replica of the original aircraft. Also pretty hard to get close to due to the sheer number of people trying to get a look and snap a photo themselves.

What an adrenaline rush flying these planes, the pilot threw this around unlike anything I’ve ever seen. incredible to watch which is why I forgot to photograph it more than I did.

Airshows are full of photographers with incredible long lenses, my advice is that if you struggle with the horrible disease of ‘Lens Envy’ that you don’t attend as it may result in a unwarranted purchase of very long lens and some very long looks from your financial advisor (the wife!)

2 thoughts on “Fast Jets, Fast Lenses

Comments are closed.